In the beginning…

Image“In the beginning God created the sky and the earth.” ~ Genesis 1:1

Our very first glimpse of God, who He is, what He is all about is in the very first verse of the Bible. And the very first action recorded was of Him creating.

“So God created human beings in his image. In the image of God he created them. He created them male and female.” ~ Genesis 1:27

And once He was done with the rest of creation, He made us – the only beings on record to have been made in His image and likeness. So what does this mean?

Every kid who grows up in church learns Genesis 1:1 pretty early on. It’s one of those verses like John 3:16 that we just know and don’t ever remember not knowing it. The struggle with verses like that is that we often breeze past them without really grasping their meaning and getting a real revelation of what it means for us. Genesis 1:1 became revelation to me this week.

In the beginning God created. And then He made me to be like Him. I was made to create.

We often separate out creatives as a different species. They’re not really human. They’re a strange breed of highly-opinionated, hippie-dressing, unkempt, weirdos who are locked in back rooms never to emerge. But the truth of it is, we were all meant to be creatives.

If you’re not the creative type, this doesn’t mean that you have to go to art school and start painting abstract figures that you label as The Dawn or The Scale of Evasion. We all have some measure of creativity in us and that’s not necessarily in the area of fine arts. Maybe you are creative with numbers. You can balance an account like nobody’s business. That takes creativity! Maybe you’re a mom who stays at home with five kids all day every day. It takes creativity to make each day different than the last. No matter what it is you do, there is a hidden creative aspect to it. All you have to do is find out what that is and do it to the very best of your God-given ability.

Now, I know I am a creative. I am highly-opinionated, I dress weird, some days I don’t shower and most days I never leave my apartment. I recently heard a pastor I very much respect speak on the subject of creatives. One of the first verses he brought up was Genesis 1:1. Something inside of me welled up. That’s me. God made me to be like Him. He made me to create. Even though I’ve always known that I live on that fine edge of creativity that borders crazy, to hear this verse in that context was freeing. Not only can I create, I was made to do it.

Leave a Reply

