Greater

Image

I’ve been reading a book called Greater by Pastor Steven Furtick of Elevation Church in Charlotte, North Carolina. If anyone knows anything about being greater, it would be Steven Furtick. I’ve rarely heard any pastor, let alone one as young as he is, preach with as much passion and conviction as he does. To top it all off, he’s honest. He’s not one of those preachers who acts like he’s got it all together and never does anything wrong or never has any issues in his life. That’s one of the reasons Elevation church has impacted my life.

I’ve only made it through the first two chapters of the book and already I’ve been convicted. I’ve come up with a list of questions for myself. I’ve begun to wonder, why am I not greater than I am? What’s holding me back? The answer is me. I’m the reason I’m not greater than I am. I’m holding myself back.

John 14:12 says “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater woks than these will he do, because I am going to the Father.”

No one will ever achieve greatness. It’s an impossibility. But there is always something greater. There is always something beyond who and what we are at this very moment. If God’s Spirit is as alive in me as He was in Jesus all those years ago, there should be nothing holding me back from doing the greater things that God has called me to.

This year I want to challenge myself to be greater. Not for myself because that is plain vanity and it won’t last. But for God because, in doing greater things for God, I am doing greater things that will last for eternity.

Leave a Reply

