More

More

I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, putting me into service, even though I was formerly a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent aggressor. Yet I was shown mercy because I acted ignorantly in unbelief;  and the grace of our Lord was more than abundant, with the faith and love which are found in Christ Jesus.”

~ I Timothy 1:12-14 (NASB)

With school over and work to begin, life gets scary. You go from having constant work and deadlines to no work and free time. You think you knew it all leaving school and leave confident that you will have all you ever dreamed of while zoning out during a lecture on resume writing. And then reality sets in.

It’s not that life gets better or worse once you leave the safety of the classroom. It’s that it’s different. You realise that, even though the Dean says you’ve been given all the tools you need to succeed in your selected career path, all you really have is what’s (hopefully) left of your sanity and a few skills to get you started down a long road.

School ended in September. Graduation was last week. It’s taken me this long to take my first few faltering steps into the great unknown as a freelance graphic designer. It took a shove from my career advisor and a few stern words from my mother, but here I go. Off earning my keep doing something I love to do.

And in all of that, I’ve attached my reminder that the grace of God is more than abundant.  The NIV says “The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly”. In all my work, all my successes and even failures, if the grace of God was more than enough for the apostle Paul, it is more than enough for  me.

One thought on “More

  1. Hi Elizabeth (Jordan) –

    I’d really like to sit down and chat with you sometime about how your faith is connected to the rest of your life. In my new role as Student Support and Disability Services Coordinator, I’d like to inject more opportunities for spiritual exploration, etc. Please contact me when you have a chance.

    All the best, and please know how proud I am of you and your accomplishments at school
    .
    Candace Bishop
    (formerly Academic Advisor to Graphic Design et al)

Leave a Reply

